• English
  • Login / Register

Event Highlights: Tata Motors T1 Prima Racing Championship Season 3

Published On Mar 21, 2016By Lisa Pradhan

The much awaited T1 Prima Racing Championship Season 3 enthralled auto enthusiasts at the Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida yesterday. The event which attracted over 50,000 people, consisted of 24 international and domestic racers who competed in two different categories–the Super Class and the Pro Class.

Competing in the Super Class category were 12 of the most experienced Indian drivers selected through one of the most comprehensive training and selection programs from Tata Motors truck customers’ fleet across the country. The Pro Class consisted of 12 internationally acclaimed drivers who were divided into six teams of two each.


Jagat Singh and Nagarjuna A. emerged as winners of the Super Class Race 1 and Race 2 respectively.

David Jenkins of Team Tata Technologies, Rick Collett and Graham Powell, both from Team Tata Cummins finished First, Second & Third in the action packed Pro Class race.

Fastest Lap

Mat Summerfield of Team Castrol Vecton, winner of the first 8-lap race, clocked the fastest lap of 1:50:691 seconds, in the second race (20-laps), around the 3.1 kilometers race track.

Prima truck customizations

A new version of the Tata Prima trucks were brought into the picture, with an 800 kg lighter and more race-oriented framework. The top speed was boosted from 110 kmph in the first season to 130 kmph this time. As per the guidelines of the BTRA (British Truck Racing Association), key modifications were made to meet a mix of safety and performance needs. These included significant changes in fuel tank, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, racing seats and safety belts, exhaust, steering wheel among others.

Changes introduced in Season 3

To change the trend and promote Indian participation, Tata had installed a T1 Racer Program for the first time to train Indian racers before selecting them for the main event. The 12 Indian racers selected from the program participated in a separate “Super class” category.

The first place winners of the two Super Class category races will be taking home INR 10 lakhs each, the highest price money ever for an Indian motorsports event.

Another notable change in the event was the increase in the number of laps in the main race from 15 laps to 20 laps.

Along with the teams of the previous season, a new team, Tata Motors Finance, was introduced this year.


The edge of the seat action at T1 Tata Prima Racing was complimented by the engrossing feast of music by the most prominent names from the entertainment scene.

Alluring songs by the sensational Hip Hop heartthrob Badshah, enchanting melody by Neeti Mohan, scintillating Indo-western numbers by Garima Yajnik, and foot-tapping dance numbers by Sunidhi Chauhan, the ruling diva of Bollywood music kept the audience enthralled. Also, the Harley Drive Past, procession band and percussions were some of the many other surprises that Season 3 of the T1 Prima Racing Championship offered.

See Also:

T1 Prima Truck Racing – Recap of Season 1 and 2

Safety Measures at Buddh International Circuit

Latest Commercial Vehicles

*Ex-Showroom Price

Popular Models

  • Trucks
  • Pickup Trucks
  • Mini Trucks
  • Tippers
  • Trailers
  • 3 Wheeler
  • Auto Rickshaw
  • E Rickshaw
*Ex-Showroom Price
Which is your city ?